Star Wars Skirt

fandom, finished project, sewing, Star Wars

img_4445I’m finally finished with the Star Wars skirt that I’ve been working on forever! I started it way back in January, but promptly forgot about it and then lost it. I found it again, recently, and decided to finish it.

I really love the way it fits and feels. I cut it just a little bit shorter than the pattern called for, so that when I wear it a little above my waist (which is where I like to wear things) it falls right to my knees.

img_4440Materials: 

  • Four inch Elastic (enough to go around your waist)
  • McCall’s Pattern M7197
  • Fabric (here’s what I used)
  • Sewing notions

I followed the pattern for the skirt with only a few, minor modifications. I sewed the skirt as the pattern called for, but I didn’t put in a zipper, I just seamed it like I had everything else until I had one large piece that looked like a circle with a hole cut in the middle. Fun.

I measured the elastic so that it would go around my waist and be only a little snug, and then sewed it onto the skirt for the waist. Then I did a simple, rolled hem around the bottom, and it was done!

Its really comfortable to wear, and very easy. I tried styling it in two different ways, with tights and boots (more of a winter or fall look) and with heeled sandals (for spring or summer) and both turned out really well.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


 

One thought on “Star Wars Skirt

Leave a Reply

