Bloglovin’

Blogging, Media, My Tutorials

As part of my series on DIY Social Media I thought I’d share a how to about the site Bloglovin. Bloglovin is a site that allows you to follow almost any blog across the web, even if the author of that blog hasn’t posted it to Bloglovin themselves. I personally use it not only to promote my own blogs, but also to keep up with people who don’t have WordPress blogs (people on sites like Blogger), but whose posts I want to keep up with.

Before you do anything else you need to make a Bloglovin account by going to their website and clicking to sign up.

Link a Blog to Bloglovin’

Its not required that you link your blog to your profile, but it is helpful in terms of getting followers and content analytics.

Screen Shot 2016-04-11 at 10.45.15 AM

Go up to the little icon (if you added a profile picture it will show up there) and click it. When the drop down menu appears click “Blog Analytics.”

Screen Shot 2016-04-11 at 10.45.21 AM

The first thing you’ll see is an advertisement to monetize your blogs. Ignore that for now and click “Claim Blog.”

Screen Shot 2016-04-11 at 10.53.54 AM.png

In the pop-up type in (or copy and paste) the full URL of your blog. Once it loads (which can take a while) click the title.

Go to your blog, make a new post and use the HTML editor to paste in the post. Publish the post and then return to Bloglovin and click “Claim Blog”

It will take you back to the analytics screen, but now (if it worked) your blog will show up. Now you can return to WordPress and delete the post we just made.

Updating Your Blog Info

I reccomend changing the blog info to something that is more helpful to the people you want to find your blog.

Screen Shot 2016-04-11 at 11.02.44 AM.png

Find your blog on the analytics screen and click “Edit Blog Info.”

Screen Shot 2016-04-11 at 11.02.50 AM.png

This is all that it automatically imported for me, so I’m going to change things and update it.

Screen Shot 2016-04-11 at 11.04.44 AM.png

I updated my description to add a bit more about what I blog about, and then I changed my category from the default “other” to “DIY & Crafts.”

If you don’t want it to show on your bloglovin’ public profile uncheck the “privacy” box. Unless you’re moving blogs do nothing with the “move followers” button. Don’t forget to save.

Add a Bloglovin’ Button

If the world were a perfect place, adding the bloglovin’ widget would be easy, however, despite my HTML and CSS background I can’t seem to get it to work, so I added it in a different way. I simply went to my blog’s page on bloglovin, copied the URL and then added a “Social Menu” to my blog (you can find instructions for that here), putting in Twitter, Pinterest, Instagram, and Bloglovin. Then I added it to my top bar and side bar.

Leave a Reply

